top of page

Topics

  • Writer's picturePsychology Arts

Erica Hornthal Moves You to Improved Mental Health


By Psychology Arts



Erica Hornthal supports people to change their mind by changing their body; the way you sit, talk, even gesture has great influence over how you move through life.  To make lasting changes and to embrace our mental health we must turn to the body for it houses all of our experiences.



What do you do? Who do you help?


As a dance/movement therapist I encourage my clients to use movements in all forms to support self-expression, self-awareness, as well as support behavioral health.  Dance and movement are not just art forms, but rather our primary form of communication.  Movement defines life.  If we are not moving then we are not living.  I support my clients in identifying how their movement habits contribute to their mental health.



List your favorite therapeutic tools.


Movement, creative art, and music in addition to traditional talk therapy.


What is a good course, website or book you would recommend and why?


Bodyfulness by Christine Caldwell is a wonderful book that taps into how we can truly engage our bodies to enhance wellbeing.


What makes your practice unique?


My philosophy is that "you are how you move".  This informs all of the work that I do.



What advice would you give to other creative arts therapists?


This is not an easy path, but with passion and perseverance there is longevity and success in this field.


"You can change your mind by changing your body; the way you sit, talk, even gesture has great influence over how you move through life.  To make lasting changes and to embrace our mental health we must turn to the body for it houses all of our experiences."


What is your self-care routine?


I am very aware of my boundaries and take the time to make myself a priority so that I can be there for my family and my clients.  I dance any chance I get because it feeds my soul and fuels my creativity.


Chicago Parent Magazine

List the products or items that are indispensable in your life.


Music!


Who influences your work and why?


Marian Chace, the grand dame of dance therapy, as well as the mentors and educators who have provided me with support and supervision.



List your social media platforms and website(s).


Facebook: Erica Hornthal

Instagram: @ericahornthal




Want to Get Interviewed?


We help Creative Arts Therapists build their practice, grow as professionals and provide essential resources AND publish Interviews and Blog Posts by Creative Arts Therapists just like YOU!

​​

Build awareness

Drive traffic

Build trust

Gain attention

Get known

Reach another audience

Generate buzz

Boost your searchability (SEO)



80 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
JOIN OUR FOLLOWERS
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
  • LinkedIn - Grey Circle
  • YouTube - Grey Circle
INSTAGRAM PAGE
FACEBOOK PAGE
MOST RECENT POSTS

Join other Creative Arts Therapists

SUBSCRIBE
bottom of page